2022年11月23日

香港金融管理局发布政策文件阐述数码港元的未来发展路向

引言

香港金融管理局(「金管局」)于2022年9月20日发布题为《「数码港元」— 迈出新一步》的政策立场文件(「《立场文件》」),阐述其对零售层面央行数码货币,即数码港元的政策立场并概述其下一步行动。就着2021年10月发布题为《从技术角度看「数码港元」》的技术白皮书和2022年4月发布题为《从政策及设计角度看「数码港元」》的政策讨论白皮书的结论和意见,金管局认为有必要开始为日后推出数码港元而铺路。本次新闻更新,我们主要关注数码港元的发展、其法律地位,以及《立场文件》中所涉及的相关特点。

数码港元的未来发展路向

以下是金管局在《立场文件》中所设想有关实施数码港元的方法和模式:

以三轨道方式准备 金管局将采取「三轨道方式」,透过探索在香港推广和准备推出数码港元的不同阶段:1

  • 轨道一:奠定配合不同设计选项的科技基础和发行数码形式的货币的法律基础
  • 轨道二:深入研究不同用例和设计,例如经电子钱包应用程式使用数码港元、网络安全和代币化证券的货银两讫(DvP)结算
  • 轨道三:推出数码港元
  • 两层式分发结构
  • 分发结构由分开而联系的两层组成,分别是银行同业间的批发层面和零售端用户对接层面。
  • 金管局倾向于采用两层式分发结构。
  • 金管局将首先着手开发银行同业间的批发层面(批发层面),目标是开发一个技术基础,以适应零售层面的不同设计选择,并在日后进行相对较少的修改。
  • 金管局将与零售支付市场参与者探讨数码港元能否和如何填补现有市场可能存在的空隙。2
  • 数码港元的特征

    正如《立场文件》及白皮书所述,数码港元应具有以下特征:

    法定货币地位
  • 金管局目前倾向认为数码港元应具有法定货币地位,以确保数码港元和实体形式的法定货币(即根据《法定货币纸币发行条例》发行的纸币及银行纸币和根据《硬币条例》发行的硬币)地位一致,并适当修订法例以赋予数码港元法定货币地位。
  • 这代表若没有任何相反的合约条款存在,数码港元作为法定货币,在法律上会被视为用作偿还所欠债务的一种有效及合法方式。3
  • 金管局认为,将数码港元定为法定货币,而且其发行有着明确的法律依据,这将增强公众对数码港元的信心。与目前实体货币的情况一样,商业交易中各方可以合约方式自行决定交易条款,包括彼此接受的付款方式。因此,法律不会强制货品或服务供应商接受数码港元作为付款方式,也不禁止任何人以合约方式拒绝接受数码港元作为付款方式。4
  • 网络安全和防伪特征
  • 金管局认同网络安全对加强公众对数码港元的信心尤其重要,而技术白皮书大多数的受访者认同央行数码货币平台的首要考虑为网络安全而非效率。5
  • 此外,金管局建议通过将伪造数码港元的行为定为刑事犯罪(即现行防止伪冒条文适用于「数码环境」的安排),以保护和加强公众对数码港元的信心。6
  • 此外,金管局建议通过将伪造数码港元的行为定为刑事犯罪(即现行防止伪冒条文适用于「数码环境」的安排),以保护和加强公众对数码港元的信心。7特别是,根据《刑事罪行条例》第103条,未经金融管理专员同意,在任何物质上复制任何香港流通纸币,即属刑事罪行。
  • 互联互通
  • 由于多个国家已推出其央行数码货币,金管局同意必须确保数码港元尽可能与其他支付系统全面互联互通,让公众能更快捷方便地进行支付,免受阻碍。
  • 而且,金管局会考虑数码港元能否接入其他支付系统,以及日后能否加入创新发展元素,以促进跨平台支付及未来发展。8
  • 打击洗钱及恐怖分子资金筹集的监管
  • 金管局同意在数码港元的设计架构中适当考虑监管和合规标准9
  • 金管局根据「相同风险, 相同监管」原则, 10 认同现时《打击洗钱及恐怖分子资金筹集条例》和《支付系统及储值支付工具条例》下规定应尽可能适用于使用数码港元的交易,而中介人有责任满足打击洗钱及恐怖份子资金筹集的要求。
  • 数据隐私的保护
  • 对数据隐私的保护的其中一个问题是哪些机构(例如央行、钱包营运商、银行、商家)可以存取什么程度的资料(例如用户身份、交易历史),及更重要的是在面对央行时,这些用户和机构能够保持多大的匿名度。
  • 主要原则为,数码港元系统应时刻遵守《个人资料(私隐)条例》及个人资料私隐专员公署不时发出的相关实务守则、指引及最佳行事方式指引。11
  • 私隐和数据保障的有关考虑应纳入「数码港元」的系统设计及操作中,而同时确保有效地确保打击洗钱及恐怖份子资金筹集合规。
  • 分层式帐户结构
  • 金管局会考虑有关数码港元采用「分层式帐户」结构的建议,即是因应「认识你的客户」的程度划分层级在交易或结余方面设定不同的限额及功能,以在可用性和隐私的因素之间取得平衡。12
  • 分析和总结

    监管机构一向积极于金融科技领域内推出各种新的制度和指引。随着金融科技和虚拟资产的快速发展,香港政府、香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(「证监会」)和金管局一直致力于建立有效的监管框架,以促进香港金融科技行业的繁荣。关于数码港元的立场文件就是这方面的众多例子之一。

    诚然,香港政府一向积极于建立虚拟资产市场的监管框架,包括就《2022年打击洗钱及恐怖分子资金筹集(修订)条例草案》刊宪,以引入虚拟资产服务提供者发牌制度,制度将于2023年3月1日生效。除了透过新的发牌制度为允许虚拟资产进入香港市场踏出第一步,于财经事务及库务局发布《有关香港虚拟资产发展的政策宣言》当天,证监会也发布了有关虚拟资产期货交易所交易基金(ETF)的通函。13

    由于数码港元是数码形式的法定货币,政府认为数码港元的意义在于其成为法定货币和虚拟资产之间的潜在「骨干」和支柱。金管局还将「代币化证券的货银两讫(DvP)结算」纳入数码港元的计划项目之中。这将提供高效率的结算、稳定的价格和提高信心,鼓励证券代币发行和不同类型的虚拟资产领域有更多创新,从而提高香港虚拟资产市场的竞争力,吸引虚拟资产服务提供者在香港经营和落户于香港。通过与快速支付系统(FPS)的互联互通及同步,这有着大大提升香港支付效率的潜力。我们欢迎这样的发展,并期待着香港金融科技生态系统未来整体的提升和发展。

    如有任何疑问或获取更多信息,请联系我们的合伙人张源辉律师和卢建华律师。

    本新闻简讯仅供参考之用。本新闻简讯之内容不构成亦不应被视为法律意见。对于任何因根据或倚赖本文件所载资料所作决定,行动或不行动而引致的损失或损害,史蒂文生黄律师事务所概不负责。

    1 HKMA Position Paper “eHKD – Charting the Next Steps” pp. 9-11
    2 金管局立场文件《「数码港元」— 迈出新一步》第8至9页
    3 金管局立场文件《「数码港元」— 迈出新一步》第35页
    4 金管局立场文件《「数码港元」— 迈出新一步》第36页
    5 金管局立场文件《「数码港元」— 迈出新一步》第6页
    6 金管局白皮书《从政策及设计角度看「数码港元」》第27至28页
    7 金管局白皮书《从政策及设计角度看「数码港元」》第27至28页
    8 金管局立场文件《「数码港元」— 迈出新一步》第14页
    9 金管局立场文件《「数码港元」— 迈出新一步》第13页
    10 金管局立场文件《「数码港元」— 迈出新一步》第28至29页
    11 金管局白皮书《从政策及设计角度看「数码港元」》第26至27页
    12 金管局立场文件《「数码港元」— 迈出新一步》第26页
    13 证监会《关于虚拟资产期货交易所交易基金的通函

23 Nov 2022

THE HONG KONG MONETARY AUTHORITY PUBLISHED THE POSITION PAPER CHARTING THE NEXT STEPS OF E-HKD

Introduction

The Hong Kong Monetary Authority (“HKMA”) released a position paper titled “e-HKD: Charting the Next Steps” on 20 September 2022 (the “Position Paper”) to set out its policy stance on retail Central Bank Digital Currency (CBDC), i.e. e-HKD, and outline its next steps. Based on the findings and comments received from the technical whitepaper titled “e-HKD: A technical perspective” published in October 2021 and the policy discussion whitepaper titled “e-HKD: A policy and design perspective” published in April 2022, the HKMA considers it necessary to start paving the way for possible future implementation of e-HKD. In this news update, we will focus primarily on the development of e-HKD, its legal status, and relevant features contemplated under the Position Paper.

Charting the Next Steps of e-HKD

Set out below is the approach and model envisaged by the HKMA to implement e-HKD as discussed in the Position Paper:-

Three-rail Approach The HKMA will adopt a “three-rail approach”, by exploring the phases to promote and prepare for the launch of e-HKD in Hong Kong:1
  • Rail 1 – laying the technology foundation to suit different design choices and legal foundations for issuance of digital form of fiat currency
  • Rail 2 – deep-dive research on use cases and designs, such as projects on access to e-HKD via e-wallet app, cybersecurity, DvP settlement of tokenised securities
  • Rail 3 – rolling out e-HKD
  • Two-tier Distribution Model
  • It consists of two separate, connected layers, namely, the wholesale interbank system and the retail user wallet system.
  • The HKMA favours the adoption of a two-tier distribution structure.
  • The HKMA would first proceed to develop the wholesale, interbank tier (wholesale layer). The target is to develop a technical foundation that can suit different design choices for the retail layer with relatively little modification further down the road.
  • The HKMA will explore with retail payment market participants whether and how e-HKD can fill any gaps in the existing market. 2
  • Features of e-HKD

    As explained in the Position Paper and the whitepapers, e-HKD should have the following various features:-

    Legal Tender Status
  • The HKMA is currently inclined to the view that e-HKD should be accorded legal tender status, to ensure alignment in status between the digital form and the physical form of legal tender currency/bank notes (issued under the Legal Tender Notes Issue Ordinance) and coins (issued under the Coinage Ordinance), these ordinances will be amended to give effect to e-HKD’s legal tender status.
  • This means, absent any contractual term to the contrary, e-HKD as legal tender, would by law be regarded as a valid and legal means of tendering payment for an incurred debt. 3
  • The HKMA considers that by assigning e-HKD as a legal tender with an unambiguous legal foundation for issuance, public confidence in e-HKD will be fostered. As is the present case of physical currency, contracts allow parties to commercial transactions to determine their means of payment, thus the law would not compel goods or service providers to accept e-HKD as payment, or prohibit a person from contractually refusing to accept e-HKD as payment. 4
  • Cybersecurity and Anti-Counterfeiting
  • The HKMA believes that cybersecurity is of utmost importance to maintain public trust in e-HKD, with the majority of respondents to the technical white paper agreeing that cybersecurity needs to take precedence over efficiency for CBDC platforms.5
  • On the other hand, there is a concern over counterfeit e-HKD. In order to secure the authenticity and restrict the “double-spending” of e-HKD, technology-based measures should be considered.6
  • Moreover, the HKMA suggests criminalising the counterfeit of e-HKD by adopting a digital equivalent of the current anti-counterfeiting provisions to protect and bolster confidence in e-HKD. 7 In particular, it is a criminal offence under Section 103 of the Crimes Ordinance to “reproduces on any substance… any Hong Kong currency note” without the consent of the HKMA.
  • Interoperability
  • With multiple countries releasing their own CBDC, the HKMA considers it important that e-HKD should, so far as practicable, be fully interoperable with other payment systems which would enable the public to make more efficient payments without impediment.
  • Moreover, the HKMA would also consider connectivity and the possibility to adopt future innovations in facilitating cross-platform payment and future development.8
  • Anti-Money Laundering (AML)/Counter Terrorist Financing (CFT) Regulations
  • The HKMA agrees that regulatory and compliance standards would be duly regarded in the design architecture of e-HKD.9
  • In line with the “same risk, same regulation” principle, 10 it also agrees that existing requirements under the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance and the Payment Systems and Stored Value Facilities Ordinance should apply to transactions using e-HKD as far as possible, with intermediaries being responsible for meeting the AML/CFT requirements.
  • Data Privacy Protection
  • There is a question over what parties (e.g. central bank, wallet operators/banks and merchants) should have access to what degree of information (e.g. user identity, transaction history), and of particular importance is the degree of anonymity vis-à-vis the central bank.
  • The overarching principle is that the e-HKD system should at all times comply with the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance and relevant codes of practice, guidelines and best practices issued by the Office of the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data.11
  • Privacy and data protection should be embedded in its system design and operation, while ensuring effective AML/CFT controls.
  • Tiered-account Structure
  • The HKMA would take note of the suggestions that e-HKD should come with a “tiered-account” structure, i.e. different levels of transaction/holding limits or functions depending on the level of KYC, to strike a balance between factors such as usability and privacy.12
  • Analysis and Takeaway

    The regulators have been relatively proactive in the Fintech scene, rolling out various new regimes and guidance. With the rapid development in Fintech and VAs, the Hong Kong Government, the Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) and the HKMA have consistently strived to set up an effective regulatory framework for the Fintech industry in Hong Kong to prosper. The Position Paper on e-HKD is one of the many examples in this aspect.

    Indeed, the Hong Kong Government has been active in establishing the regulatory framework for the Virtual Assets (“VA”) market, including the gazettal of the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing (Amendment) Bill 2022 to introduce a new licensing regime for VA service providers (“VASPs”) which will take effect on 1 March 2023. In addition to the initial step to allow VA access under the new licensing regime. On the same day as the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau announced its Policy Statement on Development of Virtual Assets in Hong Kong, the SFC also published a circular on the VA futures exchange traded funds (ETFs) in Hong Kong. 13

    Since e-HKD is a digital form of legal tender, the Government believes the significance of e-HKD lies in its potential to serve as the potential “backbone” and anchor bridging legal tender and VA. 14 The HKMA also puts “DvP settlement of tokenised securities in its pipeline of projects for e-HKD. This would offer settlement efficiency, price stability and confidence to empower more innovations in the field of security token offerings and different types of VA, which in turn increases the competitiveness of the Hong Kong VA market and attract VASPs to operate and settle in Hong Kong. This has the potential of significantly enhancing Hong Kong’s payment efficiency through interoperability and synchronisation with the Faster Payment System (FPS). We welcome such development and look forward to the future enhancement and development of the Hong Kong Fintech ecosystem as a whole.

    Please contact our Partner Mr. Rodney Teoh and our Associate Calvin KW Lo for any enquiries or further information.

    This news update is for information purposes only. Its content does not constitute legal advice and should not be treated as such. Stevenson, Wong & Co. will not be liable to you in respect of any special, indirect or consequential loss or damage arising from or in connection with any decision made, action or inaction taken in reliance on the information set out herein.

    1 HKMA Position Paper “eHKD – Charting the Next Steps” pp. 9-11
    2 HKMA Position Paper “eHKD – Charting the Next Steps” pp. 8, 10
    3 HKMA Position Paper “eHKD – Charting the Next Steps” p. 36
    4 HKMA Position Paper “eHKD – Charting the Next Steps” p. 37
    5 HKMA Position Paper “eHKD – Charting the Next Steps” p. 7
    6 HKMA paper “e-HKD: A policy and design perspective” p. 35
    7 HKMA paper “e-HKD: A policy and design perspective” p. 35
    8 HKMA Position Paper “eHKD – Charting the Next Steps” pp. 15-16
    9 HKMA Position Paper “eHKD – Charting the Next Steps” p. 18
    10 HKMA Position Paper “eHKD – Charting the Next Steps” p. 29
    11 HKMA paper “e-HKD: A policy and design perspective” p. 33
    12 HKMA Position Paper “eHKD – Charting the Next Steps” p. 22
    13 SFC. Circular on Virtual Asset Futures Exchange Traded Funds.
    14 The Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau. Policy Statement on Development of Virtual Assets in Hong Kong.