2022年8月11日

香港联交所就上市发行人股份计划刊发咨询总结

背景

2022年7月29日,香港联合交易所有限公司(“联交所”)就有关上市发行人股份计划的《香港联合交易所有限公司证券上市规则》(“《上市规则》”)修订建议发表了一份谘询总结(“谘询总结”)。由于《上市规则》第17章目前只适用于发行人及其附属公司的股份期权计划,联交所建议将《上市规则》第17章的适用范围扩大至涵盖股份奖励计划。公众的大部分回应支持联交所于2021年10月29日就「有关上市发行人股份计划的《上市规则》修订建议的谘询文件」(“谘询文件”)所概述的建议。

本文将摘录我们在2021年10月对联交所咨询文件的新闻更新的后续(请点击这里查看我们的新闻更新)。本文所用术语的含义与谘询总结和谘询文件中的定义相同。

联交所采用了大部分谘询文件中的建议,并作出了一些小修订,以反映公众的意见。这些小修订主要关于薪酬委员会的角色、股份奖励及股份期权的归属期和附属公司的股份计划。经修订的《上市规则》第17章将于2023年1月1日生效。我们建议发行人在生效日期前修订其股份计划。

联交所采用了大部分谘询文件中的建议,并作出了一些小修订,以反映公众的意见。这些小修订主要关于薪酬委员会的角色、股份奖励及股份期权的归属期和附属公司的股份计划。经修订的《上市规则》第17章将于2023年1月1日生效。我们建议发行人在生效日期前修订其股份计划。

上市规则修订的主要摘要

下表载列上市规则的现行规定与最终待实施的框架的比较:

现行规则 待实施的经修订规则
涉及上市发行人发行新股的股份计划
1.上市规则第17章的范围
现时,第17章只规范了股份期权计划。 • 建议获采纳,将《上市规则》第17章的适用范围扩大至涵盖涉及发行人授出股份奖励及授出可认购其新股的股份期权的股份计划。

(《主板规则》第 17.01 条/《GEM规则》第 23.01 条)

2.股份计划的合资格参与者
• 对合格参与者的类别没有限制。 • 建议获采纳,界定股份计划的「合资格参与者」,包括雇员参与者、关连实体参与者及服务提供者,并对「服务提供者」的定义略作修改,服务提供者概不包括任何涉及提供鉴证服务又或须公正客观地执行服务的专业顾问或专家。

(《主板规则》第 17.03A 条/《GEM规则》第 23.03A 条)

• 建议不获采纳:规定向关连实体参与者及服务提供者授予股份或任何相关事宜(例如服务提供者分项限额)必须经薪酬委员会批准。这些事宜会继续经由董事会批准。薪酬委员将会仅负责批准向发行人董事及高级管理层授予股份的有关事宜。

3. 计划授权
• 所有股份期权计划授出的股份期权以发行人已发行股份总数的10%为限。

• 如未行使的股份期权不超过发行股份总数的30%,发行人可随时寻求股东批准更新计划授权。

建议获采纳

• 对发行人所有股份计划加设计划授权限额,以不多于发行人已发行股份的10%为限。此授权可每三年经股东批准更新一次。若在三年期内更新计划限额,须经独立股东批准。

(《主板规则》第 17.03(3)、17.03B(1)及 17.03C(1)条/《GEM规则》第 23.03(3)、23.03B(1)及
23.03C(1)条)

• 发行人须在计划授权限额内另设服务提供者分项限额,并于致股东通函中披露其厘定这分项限额的基准。

(《主板规则》第 17.03(3)及 17.03B(2)条/《GEM规则》第 23.03(3)及23.03B(2)条)

• 删除现行有关未行使股份期权数目不得超过当时已发行股份30%的规定。

4.授予股份的最短归属期
对归属期没有具体要求。 建议获采纳,并有一些修改:

• 归属期须为至少 12 个月。

• 董事会可自行决定向雇员参与者授予归属期较短的股份,前提是:

(a) 计划文件载列向雇员参与者授予股份的归属期可予缩短的特定情况;

(b) 董事会(及薪酬委员会,如有关的特定情况可能适用于向董事及高级管理层授予股份)解释为何有关安排属适当安排以及有关的授予股份如何符合计划目的;及

(c) 授予归属期较短的股份时,授出公告载有计划项下特别允许授予股份的归属期较短的相关特定情况,及(如果是向发行人董事及高级管理层授予股份)薪酬委员会对归属期为何应较短的看法。

(《主板规则》第 17.03(6)条附注及第17.03F 条/《GEM 规则》第 23.03(6)条附注及第 23.03F 条)

5.表现目标及退扣机制
• 所有股份期权计划授出的股份期权以发行人已发行股份总数的10%为限。

• 如未行使的股份期权不超过发行股份总数的30%,发行人可随时寻求股东批准更新计划授权。

建议获采纳,并有一些修改:

• 计划文件须载有根据计划将予授出的股份奖励或期权所附带的表现目标的描述(可为定性描述)(如有)。若无有关表现目标,则须就此作出否定声明。此外,若发行人制定了退扣机制以收回或扣除任何参与者的薪酬,计划文件须包括退扣机制的描述;若无退扣机制,则须就此作出否定声明。

• 发行人将须于授出公告中披露授予股份所附带的表现目标(可为定性描述)及退扣机制(如有)。若股份是授予任何董事及高级管理层而不设表现目标及/或退扣机制,则授出公告须披露薪酬委员会就为何毋须设定表现目标及/或退扣机制以及授予有关股份如何符合计划目的发表的意见。

(《主板规则》第 17.03(7)、17.03(19)及 17.06B(8)条/《GEM 规则》第23.03(7)、23.03(19)及
23.06B(8)条)

6. 行使价或股份授出价
• 股份期权的行使价不得低于股份期权授出时相关股份的市价。 • 建议获采纳,保留现时对股份期权行使价的限制。就授予股份奖励而言,没有对股份授出价施加限制。

(《主板规则》第 17.03E 条/《GEM 規則》第 23.03E 条) 

7. 向个别参与者授予大额股份及向关连人士授予股份的限制
股份期权计划

• 对于个别参与者:如果在12个月内授予超过1%已发行股份的期权,则需要获得股东批准。

• 对于董事(独立非执行董事除外)或最高行政人员:由独立非执行董事批准。
• 为(i)合资格参与者是主要股东及(ii)独立非执行董事:(a)由独立非执行董事批准(不包括任何本身为获授人的独立非执行董事);或(b)独立股东批准在12个月内批出超过已发行股份0.1%及500万港元的股份期权。

股份奖励计划>

• 对于个别参与者:无具体限制。

• 对于作为董事、最高行政人员和合资格参与者是主要股东:股东批准任何涉及新股的股份奖励。

适用于所有计划方案

• 对于个别参与者:建议获采纳,如果在任何12个月期间授予个别参与者的股份奖励和股份期权总额超过已发行股份总额的1%,则需要股东批准。

(《主板规则》第 17.03D 条/《GEM規則》第 23.03D 条)

• 对于董事(独立非执行董事除外)或最高行政人员:建议经修改

(a) 在符合(b)的前提下,由独立非执行董事批准;或

(b) 如股份奖励的授予导致所授予的股份奖励在任何12个月期间超过已发行股份总额的0.1%,则需要独立股东的批准。

• 对于(i)合资格参与者是主要股东及(ii)独立非执行董事: 建议经修改

(a) 在符合(b)的前提下,由独立非执行董事批准;或

(b) 如在任何12个月期间内授出的股份奖励股份期权合计超过已发行股份总数的0.1%,则须获独立股东批准。

(《主板规则》第 17.04 条/《GEM 規則》第 23.04 条)

• 建议获采纳,移除有关向发行人的独立非执行董事或主要股东授出股份期权的 500 万港元最低豁免门槛 。

涉及上市发行人现有股份的股份计划
8. 授出公告及财务报告中的披露
• 由在市场上购买的现有股份的股份奖励计划不需要股东批准。

• 关于这些计划的披露受会计准则管辖。

• 建议不获采纳:涉及现有股份的股份授予公告的规定。

• 建议获采纳:
规定向以下人士授予现有股份须于年报作披露:(i)董事(逐一个别披露);及(ii)最高薪酬的五名人士(合计披露)。向其他参与者授予股份的详情可合计披露。

(《 主 板 规 则 》 第 17.01(1)(b)条 /《GEM 规则》第 23.01(1)(b)条)

上市发行人附属公司的股份计划
9. 附属公司的股份奖励计划
• 监管附属公司的股份期权计划。 • 建议经修改,扩大第17章的适用范围,以规管主要附属公司(即在最近三个财政年度中任何一年的收益、盈利或总资产占发行人收益、盈利或总资产的75%或以上的附属公司)的股份计划。

(《主板规则》第 17.13 至 17.15 条/《GEM 规则》第 23.13 至 23.15 条)

• 其他附属公司的股份计划下的授予股份须遵守第 14 章和/或 14A 的規定。

过渡安排
对于自2023年1月1日起生效的现有股份计划,联交所将提供过渡安排。总括而言:

  • (a) 新披露规定 将于 2023 年 1 月 1 日生效,适用于当日所有的现有股份计划。由 2023 年 1 月 1 日或之后开始的财政年度,上市发行人仅可向合资格参与者(定义见经修订的《上市规则》第 17 章)授予股份。
  • (b) 就上市发行人于2023 年 1 月 1 日前采纳的股份期权计划及股份奖励计划而言,发行人可继续使用现有计划授权或预先授权而向合资格参与者(定义见经修订的《上市规则》第17章)授予股份。使用一般授权的股份奖励计划的发行人,在 2023 年 1 月 1 日后的第二个股东周年大会之日及之前仍可授予股份。

分析和启示
上市发行人通常会利用股份计划来奖励和激励其员工及服务提供商。联交所在《上市规则》中调整统一了股份期权计划及股份奖励计划,实属重要举措。我们认为,经修订的《上市规则》第17章的实施能够为上市发行人制定其股份授予计划时提供灵活性及清晰度,并加强其股份计划向股东和投资者的披露。

本文由本所合伙人,企业融资部张源辉律师刘咏琳律师钟卓怡实习律师共同撰写。如有任何疑问或获取更多信息,请联系我们的合伙人张源辉律师

本新闻简讯仅供参考之用。本新闻简讯之内容不构成亦不应被视为法律意见。对于任何因根据或倚赖本文件所载资料所作决定,行动或不行动而引致的损失或损害,史蒂文生黄律师事务所概不负责。

11 Aug 2022

THE EXCHANGE PUBLISHED CONSULTATION CONCLUSIONS ON SHARE SCHEMES OF LISTED ISSUERS

Background

On 29 July 2022, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the “Exchange”) published its consultation conclusions (the “Consultation Conclusions”) as to its proposed amendments to the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the “Listing Rules”) in relation to Share Schemes of Listed Issuers. As the current Chapter 17 of the Listing Rules only governs share option schemes of the listing issuers and their subsidiaries, the Exchange proposed to extend Chapter 17 of the Listing Rules to also include share award schemes. Majority of the responses from the public supported the Exchange’s proposals outlined in its “Consultation Paper on Proposed Amendments to Listing Rules relating to Share Schemes of Listed Issuers” (the “Consultation Paper”) on 29 October 2021.

This article follows up with our news update in November 2021 on the Exchange’s Consultation Paper (please see our news update here). The capitalised terms used herein shall have the same meanings as defined in the Consultation Conclusions and Consultation Paper.

The Exchange has adopted most of its proposals with some minor modifications to reflect the public’s responses. These minor modifications mainly relate to the role of the remuneration committee, vesting period for share awards and options, and share schemes of subsidiaries. The amended Chapter 17 of the Listing Rules will become effective from 1 January 2023. We encourage listed issuers to amend their Share Schemes before the effective date.

Summary of the key changes to the Listing Rules

The below table sets out a comparison between the current requirements under the Listing Rules and the final framework to be implemented:

Current Rules Revised Rules to be Implemented
Share Schemes Funded by Issuance of New Shares of Listed Issuers
1. Scope of Chapter 17 of the Listing Rules
Chapter 17 of the Listing Rules currently governs share option schemes only. • Proposal adopted to extend Chapter 17 of the Listing Rules to govern all Share Schemes involving grants of share awards and grants of options over new shares of issuers.

(MB Rule 17.01 / GEM Rule 23.01)

2. Eligible participants of Share Schemes
• No restriction on the categories of eligible participants. • Proposal adopted by defining “eligible participants” of Share Schemes to include Employee Participants, Related Entity Participants and Service Providers, with minor changes to the proposed definition of “Service Providers”, which professional advisors or experts who provide assurance, or are required to perform their services with impartiality and objectivity, are to be excluded from the definition of Service Providers.

(MB Rule 17.03A/ GEM Rule 23.03A)
• Proposal NOT adopted: to require approval by the remuneration committee of Share Grants to Related Entity Participants and Service Providers and other related matters (e.g. Service Provider Sublimit). These matters will continue to be approved by the Board. Remuneration committee would be required to approve matters relating to Share Grants to the issuer’s directors and senior management only.

3. Scheme mandate
• The grants of share options from all share option schemes are limited to 10% of the total issued shares of the issuers.

• Issuers may seek shareholders’ approval to refresh the scheme mandate at any time if the options outstanding do not exceed the 30% of its total issued shares.

Proposal adopted:

• Apply a Scheme Mandate Limit of not exceeding 10% of an issuer’s issued shares to Share Grants under all Share Schemes of the issuer which may be refreshed by shareholders’ approval once every three years, and to require independent shareholders’ approval for refreshment of scheme mandate within a three-year period.

(MB Rules 17.03(3), 17.03B(1) and 17.03C(1) / GEM Rules 23.03(3), 23.03B(1) and 23.03C(1))

• Require the issuer to set a service provider sublimit within the Scheme Mandate Limit and disclose the basis for determining the sublimit in its circular to shareholders.

(MB Rules 17.03(3) and 17.03B(2) / GEM Rules 23.03(3) and 23.03B(2))

• Remove the current requirement that the number of outstanding options should not exceed 30% of the issued shares from time to time.

4. Minimum vesting period for Share Grants
• Do not have specific requirements on vesting period. Proposal adopted with modifications:

• Require a minimum vesting period of 12 months.

• The board of directors, at its discretion, shall permit a shorter vesting period if it is Share Grants made to Employee Participants, provided that:

(a) the scheme document sets out the specific circumstances where the vesting period for Share Grants to Employee Participants can be shortened;

(b) the board of directors (and the remuneration committee where the specific circumstances may apply to grants to directors and senior management) to explain why a shorter vesting period is appropriate and how the grants align with the purpose of the scheme; and

(c) the grant announcement states the relevant circumstances that are specifically permitted by the scheme when a Share Grant is made with a shorter vesting period. Where the Share Grants are made to the issuer’s directors and senior management, the remuneration committee’s views on why a shorter vesting period is appropriate.

(Note to MB Rules 17.03(6) and 17.03F / Note to GEM Rules 23.03(6) and 23.03F)

5. Performance targets and clawback mechanism
• Require issuer to disclose in the scheme documents any performance targets attached to share grants or a negative statement.
• No specific disclosure requirement relating to a clawback mechanism.

Proposal adopted with modifications:

• The scheme document must include a description of the performance targets (which may be qualitative) attached to awards or options to be granted under the scheme, if any, and if none, a negative statement to that effect. In addition, where the issuer has established a clawback mechanism to recover or withhold the remuneration to any participants, the scheme document must include a description of the clawback mechanism or, if none, a negative statement to that effect.

• Issuers would be required to disclose in their grant announcements the performance targets (which may be qualitative) and clawback mechanisms attached to Share Grants, if any. Where Share Grants are made to any directors and senior management without performance targets and/or clawback mechanism, the grant announcement must disclose the remuneration committee’s views on why they are not required and how the grants align with the purpose of the scheme.

(MB Rules 17.03(7), 17.03(19) and 17.06B(8) / GEM Rules 23.03(7), 23.03(19) and 23.06B(8))

6. Exercise price or share grant price
• The exercise price of share options must not be less than market price of the shares at the time of grant. • Proposal adopted to retain the current restriction on the exercise price of share options. No restriction on share grant price for grants of new shares under share award schemes.

(MB Rule 17.03E / GEM Rule 23.03E)

7. Restrictions on large share grants to individual participants and share grants to connected persons
Share option schemes
• For individual grantee: shareholders’ approval if grants of options in excess of 1% of issued shares over a 12- month period.
• For director (other than an INED), or chief executive: approval by INEDs.
• For (i) eligible participant who is a substantial shareholder and (ii) INED: (a) approval by INEDs (excluding any INED who is the grantee); or (b) independent shareholders’ approval for grants of options in excess of 0.1% of issued shares and HK$5 million over a 12-month period.

Share award schemes>
• For individual grantee: No specific limit.
• For director, chief executive and eligible participant who is a substantial shareholder:shareholders’ approval for any grant of share awards involving new shares.

For all Share Schemes

• For individual grantee: Proposal adopted to require shareholders’ approval if grants of share awards and share options in aggregate to an individual participant exceed of 1% of issued shares over a 12- month period.

(MB Rule 17.03D/ GEM Rule 23.03D)

• For director (other than an INED), or chief executive: Proposal modified:

(a) subject to (b), INEDs’ approval; or

(b) independent shareholders’ approval if the grants of share awards cause the share awards granted to exceed 0.1% of the total issued shares over any 12-month period.

• For (i) eligible participant who is a substantial shareholder and (ii) INED: Proposal modified:

(a) Subject to (b), INEDs’ approval; or

(b) independent shareholders’ approval if the grants of share awards and share options in aggregate exceed 0.1% of the total issued shares over any 12- month period.

(MB Rule 17.04/ GEM Rule 23.04)
• Proposal adopted to remove the HK$5 million de minimis threshold for grants of share options to an INED or substantial shareholder of the issuer.

Share Schemes funded by existing shares of listed issuers
8. Disclosure in grant announcements and financial reports
• Share award schemes which are funded by existing shares purchased on-market do not require shareholders’ approval.
• Disclosure about these schemes is governed by accounting standards.
• Proposal NOT adopted: the requirement for announcement of share grants involving existing shares

• Proposal adopted: require disclosure in annual reports of grants of existing shares to (i) directors on an individual basis; and (ii) five highest paid individuals in aggregate. Details of grants to other participants can be disclosed on an aggregated basis.

(MB Rule 17.01(1)(b) / GEM Rule 23.01(1)(b))

Share Schemes of subsidiaries of listed issuers
9. Share award schemes of subsidiaries
• Govern share option schemes of subsidiaries. • Proposal modified where Chapter 17 will be extended to govern Share Schemes of principal subsidiaries (i.e. subsidiaries whose revenue, profit or total assets accounted for 75% or more of that of the issuer under the percentage ratios in any of the latest 3 financial years), and not of other subsidiaries.

(MB Rules 17.13 to 17.15 / GEM Rules 23.13 to 23.15)

• Share Grants under Share Schemes of other subsidiaries will be subject to Chapters 14 and/or 14A requirements.

Transitional Arrangements
Transitional arrangements shall be provided for existing Share Schemes that are valid as at 1 January 2023. In summary:

  • (a) The new disclosure requirements would take effect from 1 January 2023 for all existing Share Schemes as at the same date. Listed issuers may make Share Grants only to eligible participants (as defined in the amended Chapter 17) for financial years commencing on or after 1 January 2023.
  • (b) For share option schemes or share award schemes adopted by listed issuers before 1 January 2023, the issuers may continue to make Share Grants to eligible participants (as defined in the amended Chapter 17) using their existing scheme mandates or Advanced Mandates. Issuers which have adopted share award schemes using general mandate may make Share Grants up to the date of the second annual general meeting after 1 January 2023.

Analysis and Takeaways
Share Schemes are commonly used by listed issuers to reward and incentivise their employees and service providers. It represents a move for the Exchange to align the Listing Rules treatment in respect of share options schemes and share award schemes. We are positive that the implementation of the amended Chapter 17 of the Listing Rules can provide flexibility and clarity to listed issuers in formulating their Share Schemes and enhance disclosure of the Share Schemes to the shareholders and investors.

This article is co-authored by our Partner of Corporate Finance Department, Mr. Rodney Teoh, Associate, Ms. Angela Lau, and Trainee Solicitor, Ms. Jess Chung. Please contact our Partner Mr. Rodney Teoh for any enquiries or further information.

This newsletter is for information purposes only. Its content does not constitute legal advice and should not be treated as such. Stevenson, Wong & Co. will not be liable to you in respect of any special, indirect or consequential loss or damage arising from or in connection with any decision made, action or inaction taken in reliance on the information set out herein.