2020年7月16日

合伙人陈连基律师受邀为维多利亚崇德社作演讲

2020年7月8日,本所合伙人陈连基律师应维多利亚崇德社的邀请,就 “从法律角度看- 如何应对香港的认知障碍大海啸” 发表演讲。


左起: 本所合伙人陈连基律师、维多利亚崇德社主席Ms. Helen Chen、崇德国际前国际总监Ms. Winnie Teoh及崇德国际第17区州长Ms. Teresa Lin

随着人口持续老化及预期寿命持续增长,香港将会面临认知障碍个案的急剧上升,对长者产品及服务的需求亦会随之大幅增加。在当日的演讲中,陈律师向来宾解释了无精神行为能力的常见原因,并简介了《精神健康条例》(第136章)。陈律师亦分享了一些欺詐長者财产的案例研究,以及阐述有精神行为能力的人如何透过规划工具(如遗嘱、信托、持久授权书及预设医疗指示)以“预防,保护及准备” 。

关于维多利亚崇德社

崇德国际成立于1919年,由来自世界各地的高管和专业人员组成,并通过共同努力以提高全球妇女的地位。该社在全球67个国家和地区拥有超过1,200分社及近33,000名会员。

关于陈连基律师

陈连基律师为本所合伙人及精神健康资讯汇 (MIPCRC)的主席兼创始成员,擅长于私人客户工作,包括具争议性的遗嘱和家庭事务。陈律师于2014年曾被任命为家事法庭暂委法官。陈律师现时为香港律师会精神健康法委员会主席及Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP) HK的精神健康, 長者及行为能力法小组委员会的联席主席。

陈律师亦有丰富的经验代表无精神行为能力的诉讼当事人行事,并被高等法院任命为无精神行为能力人士管理财产的「产业受托监管人」。

如阁下有任何查询或想了解更多详情,请联络本所陈连基律师

16 Jul 2020

Partner Ms. Sherlynn G. Chan Invited to Speak at Zonta Club of Victoria

On 8 July 2020, our firm’s partner, Ms. Sherlynn Chan, was invited by the Zonta Club of Victoria to give a talk on “How to Embrace the Dementia Tsunami in HK- a Legal Perspective”.


From the left: Our firm’s partner, Ms. Sherlynn Chan; President of Zonta Club of Victoria, Ms. Helen Chen; Past International Director of Zonta International, Ms. Winnie Teoh and Governor of District 17- Zonta International, Ms. Teresa Lin

In light of the ageing population and increased life expectancy, there will be a surge in the number of dementia cases, leading to a huge increase in demand for elderly goods and services. During the talk, Ms. Chan explained the common causes of mental incapacity and gave an overview of the Mental Health Ordinance (Cap. 136). She then shared some case studies of elderly financial abuse and introduced some planning tools available (such as Wills and Trusts, the Enduring Power of Attorney and Advance Directives) to those who are still mentally capable in order to “prevent, protect and prepare”.

About Zonta

Zonta International is a global organization of executives and professionals working together to advance the status of women worldwide through service and advocacy. Zonta International envisions a world in which women’s rights are recognized as human rights and every woman is able to achieve her full potential. Founded in 1919, there are nearly 33,000 members from more than 1,200 Zonta Clubs across 67 countries and geographical areas.

About Ms. Sherlynn Chan

Ms. Sherlynn Chan, Partner of our firm and the Chairman and founding member of MIP Care Resources Connect Ltd., specialises in private client work including contentious probate and family matters. She served as a Deputy District Judge in the Family Court in 2014 and is currently the Chairman of the Mental Health Law Committee of the Law Society of Hong Kong and Co-Chair of the Societies of Trusts and Estate Practitioners (STEP) HK’s Mental Health, Elderly and Capacity Law Sub-Committee.

She has been appointed by the High Court as Committee of the estate of mentally incapacitated persons and manages substantial assets on behalf of vulnerable clients.

Please contact Ms. Sherlynn Chan for more information or further enquiries.