2016年6月27日

发放花红前解雇员工?请三思!

香港高等法院上诉法庭在Tadjudin Sunny v Bank of America, National Association (CACV 12/2015)案维持原讼法庭的判决,裁定美国银行解雇Tadjudin女士令她无法参与银行激励员工计划的行为,违反了雇佣合约中防止回避发放花红的隐含条款(下文称「防止回避条款」)。

该上诉的重点为上诉法庭会否同意原讼法庭的观点,即Tadjudin女士的雇佣合约隐含防止回避条款。上诉法庭裁定,为了达到雇佣双方的共同、合理期望,以免银行行使终止雇佣合约的权利导致Tadjudin女士丧失参与银行激励员工计划的资格,防止回避条款是有需要的。上诉法庭强调,倘若防止回避条款不存在,该激励员工计划会沦为子虚乌有,银行可以通过解除雇佣关系轻易剥夺Tadjudin女士获得花红的资格。基于本案的事实及相关情况,法庭裁定Tadjudin女士的雇佣合约隐含防止回避条款,但并不代表所有雇佣合约皆隐含防止回避条款。

上诉法庭同时裁定,Tadjudin女士的上司John Liptak先生是银行的代理人,其恶意及意图可被当为银行所持有的。而且,解雇Tadjudin女士的决定是银行高层受John Liptak先生影响而作出的集体决定,因此在此情况下,John Liptak先生的意图应被视为银行的想法及意愿。

总的来说,本案显示法庭对雇员的权益(特别在涉及解雇员工的个案中)采取更为果断的态度。本案亦提醒雇主必须在解雇员工前考虑清楚,面对牵涉酌情性花红的情况更要三思而行,否则贸然于发放花红前裁员可能会因为违反防止回避条款而招致不必要的诉讼。

27 Jun 2016

Implied term of anti-avoidance in Hong Kong

The Court of Appeal in Tadjudin Sunny v Bank of America, National Association (CACV 12/2015) (hereinafter, “Ms. Tadjudin” and “the Bank” respectively) upheld the Court of First Instance’s decision that the Bank, when it terminated Ms. Tadjudin’s employment, was in breach of the implied term of anti-avoidance, in order to avoid her being eligible under the performance incentive programme.

The crux of the case was whether the Court of Appeal would uphold the Court of First Instance’s finding that there existed an implied term of anti-avoidance in Ms. Tadjudin’s employment contract. It was held that the term is necessary to give effect to the common, reasonable expectation of the parties such that the Bank could not exercise its power of termination under the employment contract in order to avoid Ms. Tadjudin being eligible under its performance incentive programme. The Court of Appeal held that without the existence of this term, the performance incentive programme would become illusory and could be easily taken away by the Bank through the termination of Ms. Tadjudin’s employment. Based on the facts and circumstances of this case, it was held that an implied term of anti-avoidance existed in Ms. Tadjudin’s employment contract, but it was not held that an implied term of anti-avoidance existed in all employment contracts.

The Court of Appeal held that Mr John Liptak (an employee of the Bank and Ms. Tadjudin’s supervisor) was an agent of the Bank, and his malice and intention could therefore be attributed to the Bank. It was also noted that the decision to terminate Ms. Tadjudin’s employment was made collectively by the senior management through the manipulation by Mr Liptak, and there was no reason why Mr Liptak’s intention should not be attributed to the directing mind and will of the Bank in this situation.

In summary, this case represents the judiciary taking a more assertive role in addressing the rights between employers and employees. It also serves as a reminder that employers should be careful when dismissing employees especially where discretionary bonuses are involved because termination of employment close to the payment of a bonus may lead to a claim that there is a breach of an implied term of anti-avoidance.