2021年10月23日

仲裁最新动态:香港法院重申支持仲裁的立场

简介

在2021年8月26日,香港原讼法庭于Kinli Civil Engineering Ltd v Geotech Engineering Ltd [2021] HKCFI 2503 (下称「Kinli Civil Engineering Ltd案) 一案中下令搁置法庭诉讼程序,以转介仲裁处理相关争议,再次重申了香港法院支持仲裁的立场。本文将进一步探讨Kinli Civil Engineering Ltd案的判决内容以及其可能的影响。

Kinli Civil Engineering Ltd案案情简介

本案涉及原告Kinli Civil Engineering Ltd (下称「Kinli」) 与被告Geotech Engineering Ltd (下称「Geotech」) 于一个公共房屋开发项目中的商业纠纷。Kinli向法院提起诉讼,要求Geotech支付分判合约 (下称「该合约」) 项下Kinli声称未支付的款项。

该合约中的争议解决条款 (下称「该争议解决条款」) 规定如下:

“若在执行分判合约的过程中,甲 (Kinli) 乙 (Geotech) 双方在任何问题上产生任何争端或纠纷而以不能达成协议时,双方按照香港有关仲裁法例提交有关仲裁机构解决,并在香港特别行政区进行而仲裁之裁决将是最终决定及对双方具有约束力,除非双方另有协定,否则在总工程合约完成或分判合约终止前皆不得进行上述仲裁。(强调).

“If in the course of executing the Contract, any disputes or controversies arise between [Geotech] and [Kinli] on any question and the parties are unable to reach agreement, both parties may in accordance with the relevant arbitration laws of Hong Kong submit the dispute or controversy to the relevant arbitral institution for resolution, and the arbitral award resulting from arbitration in the HKSAR shall be final and binding on both parties, and unless otherwise agreed by both parties, the aforesaid arbitration shall not be conducted before either the completion of the main contract or the determination of the subcontract” (emphasis added).

基于该争议解决条款,Geotech根据香港法例第609章《仲裁条例》第20(1) 条以该纠纷应转介仲裁处理为由向法院申请搁置诉讼程序。Kinli对该搁置申请提出反对。

香港法院考虑的争议焦点

Klini在其反对申请中提出了三个主要论点。

1. 该争议解决条款使用的字眼是「可」而非「应该」或「必须」等詞,意味着缔约各方只是可以选择仲裁,而仲裁的争议解决方式只是允许性的 (permissive) 而非强制性的 (mandatory) 。

2. 如果将该争议解决条款解读为所有争议只能在总工程合约完成或分判合约终止后方可进行仲裁,那么该分判合约会变得「不可实行」(unworkable)。

3. 该争议解决条款不应限制缔约各方提起诉讼,因为只有在总工程合约完成或分判合约终止后缔约各方才可以进行仲裁。

香港法院的裁决

1. 在诠释在该争议解决条款中「可」这一字眼的使用时,香港法院采取了现代的取态,并参考了Fili Shipping Co Ltd and others v Premium Nafta Products Ltd [2007] BUS LR 1719的判决,确认在诠释仲裁协议时,法庭的出发点应基于对可仲裁性 (arbitrability) 和「一站式」裁决方式 (“one-stop” adjudication approach) 有利的前提。香港法院还考虑了英国案例Hermes One Ltd v Everbread Holdings Ltd [2016] 1 WLR 4098的判决,其中枢密院认为,即使在纯粹允许性仲裁条款生效的情况下,当缔约一方选择引用仲裁条款时,该仲裁条款则被视为对缔约双方都具有强制性的约束力。法院随后驳回了Kinli的论点,认为除非有非常明确的语言规定,否则仲裁条款不会被诠释为允许缔约各方在仲裁和诉讼之间做出选择。

2. 就第二个争议焦点,法院认为,香港建筑合同的缔约方普遍要求在建筑工程完成后方能就争议展开仲裁,以确保在各方产生争议的情况下,建筑工程仍可继续。因此,法院不同意Kinli关于分判合约将变为「不可实行」的论点。

3. 针对Kinli提出的最后一个论点,法院指出,双方为解决相同的争议而订立另一套分开且不同的程序是不寻常的。在该争议解决条款没有提到任何有关诉讼的情况下,法院认为,双方需就争议进行仲裁。在这方面,法院再次重申在C v D [2021] HKCFI 1471中的裁定,即法院不具备确定案件是否满足任何仲裁前置条件 (Pre-conditions)的管辖权。该问题涉及到申索的可受理性(admissibility),应交由仲裁庭进行裁决。

基于以上分析,法院认为Geotech达到了表面上 (prima facie case)仲裁协议存在的举证责任,并批准了Geotech搁置诉讼程序以转介仲裁处理的申请。

观察及评论

本案判决再次强调了香港法院一如以往支持仲裁的立场。基于法院的判决,仲裁条款中使用「可」这一字眼并不当然代表该仲裁协议性质为允许性的 (permissive) 而非强制性的 (mandatory)。在没有任何明确清晰的语言表示缔约各方可以选择将争议提交至法院进行诉讼的情况下,香港法院将更有可能要求缔约各方根据具约束力的仲裁协议进行仲裁。

本文由本所合伙人,诉讼及争议解决部主管徐凯怡律师黄晊晄律师陆卓楠实习律师共同撰写。若阁下想了解更多详情,请联络本所徐凯怡律师 (heidi.chui@sw-hk.com)。

于本文中提供的一切资料仅供参考,不构成任何法律意见,资料亦受制于适用规定及法例不时的更新与修改。若需取得相关法律意见,须咨询法律顾问。

23 Oct 2021

Arbitration Law Update: Hong Kong Court Reaffirmed its Pro-Arbitration Stance

Introduction

On 26 August 2021, the Hong Kong Court of First Instance ordered a stay of litigation proceedings in favour of arbitration in Kinli Civil Engineering Ltd v Geotech Engineering Ltd [2021] HKCFI 2503 (“Kinli Civil Engineering Ltd”), which serves as a reminder of the Hong Kong Court’s pro-arbitration stance. This article will take a closer look at the judgment of Kinli Civil Engineering Ltd and its future implications.

Factual Background of Kinli Civil Engineering Ltd

The case centres around a dispute in a public housing development project between the plaintiff Kinli Civil Engineering Ltd (“Kinli”) and the defendant Geotech Engineering Limited (“Geotech”). Kinli commenced court proceedings against Geotech to claim for alleged unpaid sums under the subcontract (“Contract”).

The dispute resolution clause of the Contract (“DR Clause”) provides that: -

“If in the course of executing the Contract, any disputes or controversies arise between [Geotech] and [Kinli] on any question and the parties are unable to reach agreement, both parties may in accordance with the relevant arbitration laws of Hong Kong submit the dispute or controversy to the relevant arbitral institution for resolution, and the arbitral award resulting from arbitration in the HKSAR shall be final and binding on both parties, and unless otherwise agreed by both parties, the aforesaid arbitration shall not be conducted before either the completion of the main contract or the determination of the subcontract (emphasis added).

Based on the DR Clause, Geotech applied to stay the litigation proceedings pursuant to section 20(1) of the Arbitration Ordinance. Kinli challenged the stay application.

Issues before the Court

In its opposition, Klini raised three main submissions: -

1. The use of “may” instead of “shall” or “must” in the DR Clause meant that parties merely had the option to elect arbitration, and the arbitration was merely permissive instead of mandatory.

2. The subcontract would be rendered “unworkable” if the DR Clause is interpreted as requiring all the disputes to be arbitrated only upon the completion of the main contract or the determination of the subcontract.

3. Parties are not precluded from litigating their disputes because arbitration could only be conducted after the completion of the main contract or the determination of the subcontract.

Decision

1. In interpreting the use of “may” in the DR Clause, the Court adopted a modern approach and referred to the judgement of Fili Shipping Co Ltd and others v Premium Nafta Products Ltd [2007] BUS LR 1719, confirming that the starting point for the construction of an arbitration agreement is the presumption in favour of arbitrability and the “one-stop” adjudication approach. The Court also considered the UK decision in Hermes One Ltd v Everbread Holdings Ltd [2016] 1 WLR 4098, where the Privy Council held that even in case of a purely permissive arbitration clause, it becomes mandatory for both parties when one party chooses to invoke the arbitration clause. The Court then rejected Kinli’s argument, and held that an arbitration clause will not be construed as giving a choice between arbitration and litigation unless there was very clear language providing for such.

2. As to the second issue, the Court observed that it is common for parties to the construction contracts in Hong Kong to require arbitration to be commenced only after completion of construction works so that the works could be continued despite the parties’ disputes. Therefore, the Court disagreed with Kinli’s argument that the subcontract would be rendered “unworkable”.

3. In response to Kinli’s last submission, the Court noted that it would be unusual for the parties to establish separate and distinct procedures for resolving same disputes. Without any mention of litigation, the Court held that the parties were bound to arbitrate the disputes. In this regard, the Court also reaffirmed its decision in C v D [2021] HKCFI 1471 that it has no role in determining whether any preconditions to arbitration have been met. Such a question relates to admissibility of the claim, and is for the arbitral tribunal to decide.

In light of the above analysis, the Court held that Geotech has discharged the onus to establish a prima facie case of the existence of an arbitration agreement, and granted Geotech’s application to stay the litigation in favour of arbitration.

Observations and Comments

The judgement once again emphasizes the Hong Kong Court’s pro-arbitration stance. It is now clear from the judgment that the use of “may” in an arbitration clause does not by itself indicate that the arbitration agreement is permissive rather than mandatory. In absence of any unequivocal and clear language that the contracting parties have the option to resolve their disputes in court, the Hong Kong Court is more likely to uphold a binding obligation imposed on the contracting parties to arbitrate.

This article is co-authored by our Partner and Head of Litigation and Dispute Resolution Department, Ms. Heidi Chui, Associate, Mr. Calvin Huang, and Trainee Solicitor, Mr. Charles Luk. Please contact Ms. Heidi Chui [heidi.chui@sw-hk.com] for any further enquiries or information.

This newsletter is for information purposes only. Its content does not constitute legal advice and should not be treated as such. Stevenson, Wong & Co. will not be liable to you in respect of any special, indirect or consequential loss or damage.