2017年12月22日

基于无力偿债理据而清盘并不构成强制执行判决或仲裁判给

在Re Lucky Resources (HK) Ltd [2016] 4 HKLRD 301一案中,清盘呈请人向香港原讼法庭提出呈请,要求基于无力偿债理据清盘Lucky Resources (HK) Ltd (下称“该公司”)。呈请人于2016年2月5日获得胜诉仲裁判给,并于2016年2月24日向该公司发出法定要求偿债书。一个月后,由于该公司未能偿还债务,呈请人做出清盘呈请。

该公司提出反对,主张清盘呈请是不恰当的,因为呈请人并未按照《仲裁条例》(第609章) 第84条的要求,取得执行仲裁判给的许可。除此之外,该公司并未就债务本身提出其他争议。

法院作出了清盘令,裁定清盘呈请并不构成强制执行判决或仲裁判给。夏利士法官认为,香港和一些外国法院 (比如英国) 的相关立场非常清晰:基于无力偿债理据而清盘的呈请是行使某类别的成员权利 (Class right),而非执行一项判决或仲裁判给,因此与《仲裁条例》第84条并无关联。

本案判决清楚表明了法院对提出清盘呈请这项成员权利的认定。其实,根据法院的过往判例,如果该公司并未就债务本身提出异议,即使呈请人并未获得相关的仲裁判给,法院亦极有可能会颁发清盘令 (参见Re Quiksilver Glorious Sun JV Ltd [2014] 4 HKLRD 759)。

22 Dec 2017

Winding Up on Grounds of Insolvency did not Constitute Enforcement of Either a Judgment or an Arbitral Award

In Re Lucky Resources (HK) Ltd [2016] 4 HKLRD 301, the petitioner presented a winding-up petition against Lucky Resources (HK) Ltd (“the Company”) on the ground of insolvency. On 5 February 2016, a final arbitration award was issued in favour of the petitioner. Based on the arbitration award, the petitioner issued a statutory demand on 24 February 2016 and a month later, issued the winding-up petition.

The Company opposed the petition on the ground that the petition had been improperly presented because the petitioner had not made an application pursuant to s.84 of the Arbitration Ordinance (Cap 609) to enforce the award. No dispute over the debt has been advanced by the Company.

The Court made the winding-up order, holding that the presentation of a winding up petition did not constitute enforcement of the award. Harris J said that it is clear from the authorities that Hong Kong courts and courts in other jurisdictions (e.g. the UK) have determined that the presentation of a petition to wind up a company on the grounds of insolvency was the exercise of a class right and did not constitute enforcement of either a judgment or an arbitration award. Therefore, s.84 of the Arbitration Ordinance (Cap 609) was irrelevant.

The decision has made the point clear that the presentation of a petition to wind up a company on the grounds of insolvency was the exercise of a class right. In fact, given that the Company did not dispute the debt, the court is likely to make a winding-up order even in the absence of a binding arbitration award (See Re Quiksilver Glorious Sun JV Ltd [2014] 4 HKLRD 759).